Worship is the only happy pill that actually works

Someone told me she liked my Tumblr name, “a bag of happy pills.” If only she knew the reason behind the name…

Often times we run towards different places, people or objects for happiness. Someone else told me they did not like drinking, but drank to deal with their issues. When I felt down in the past, I used to dance to soca music. A LOT!! And it helped me for a brief moment. I released enough endorphins and found an enjoyable way to keep fit.

However, there is something else that would not harm your liver or tire you out, but would help you find true joy. I’m talking about praise and worship. I have heard others testify about how worship or Gospel music just manages to lift their spirits. I could be so stressed because of everything I have to do. But when I spend time worshipping God, laughing and feeling overjoyed, I forget how ‘deep’ I thought my issue was.

Worship brings peace, reassurance, and reminds me of who God is. Reminds me of His power. Reminds me of His sovereign nature. Reminds me of His goodness and mercy in my life. And of course, reminds me of His love. Worship draws me closer to Christ; it’s like I can feel Him in the room; feel His warm embrace, just loving the pain away. In Amanda Cook’s song You Don’t Miss A Thing (Bethel Music), she says “when I misunderstand your love understands me.” With worship, despite the mess I am in, His arms are wide open to receive me. In the midst of the craziness of life, when we worship, we are like the disciples who ran into the lower deck and asked Jesus whether He cared if they perish. And when you worship and reach out to God with all your heart, he responds. And His response is “Peace. Be. Still” (Mark 4:38-39).

The disciples did not choose to cry and say their last prayers, they ran to the one who they knew had the power to stop what was happening. When you worship and praise God during the low moments, somewhere in your heart, you believe God is greater than your situation. He that is in you, is greater than He that is in the world (1 John 4:4). When you praise God during trials and tribulations, you are proclaiming this verse. And this is something God loves; when you are going through things that make no sense at all, and you choose to glorify His name, instead of complaining and being bitter inside. Trust me that drives the devil crazy. Because he wants you to get so frustrated and curse God, which was his intention with Job. But he failed woefully. So don’t let him succeed in your own case. Fight him with smiles on your face and a joyful song in your heart. Whatever you are going through, it is building you into a tougher person.

You will have your time in your desert, but you are not meant to remain there. A minister said this in my church. The Israelites may have been in the wilderness for 40 years (which was their fault), but they still came out. Jesus was in the desert for 40 days and 40 nights, didn’t He come out? Never feel your situation has a dead end, nothing has a dead end, so far God is living. So there is no dead end to your situation. It is a tunnel with an entrance and an exit. As you entered this tunnel, know you will come out on the other side. How long you stay in it, depends on you. You must be ready to fight and come out.

Some people feel after crying and pouring out to God, He does not respond to them. Honey if you went into worship with tears, and you came out with a smile on your face, and you felt lighter, God has answered your prayers. He has calmed your storm. It’s just left for you to believe and see it manifest. It is well with your soul. KEEP CALM AND PRAISE GOD.

Ps. you don’t need to sound like the angels to do praise and worship. It is the sincerity of your heart that matters. Psalm 100:4 said enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise. The statement is open to all His people (vs. 3), not just choristers and those who can sing. 

Stay blessed and love you.

2 thoughts on “Worship is the only happy pill that actually works

  1. A great read! and very true. There is always an exist with whatever you may be going through. With praise and worship through the good and the bad, God will always be there to help us grow!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment